Faculty Awards and Recognitions

Honors Excellence in Teaching Awards

The Honors Program is committed to recognizing excellence in teaching and mentorship among the faculty of Texas A&M University-Texarkana. Beginning in 2016, the Honors program has sponsored awards for teaching excellence in categories for tenured/tenure-track faculty, non-tenure track faculty, and a special award for student mentorship. These awards are open to all faculty at the university, and are chosen by a committee comprised primarily of Honors program students from across disciplines. Awardees are recognized at the annual Honors Showcase at the end of the Spring semester.  

2022-2023 Winners

Dr. Sean Bailey, Assistant Professor of Mathematics (Excellence in Teaching by a Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty member)
Mr. Joe Bentley, Instructor of Supply Chain Management (Excellence in Teaching by a Non-Tenure-Track faculty member)
Dr. Nurul Alam, Professor of Biology (Excellence in Mentorship)

Previous Winners

2021-2022 Winners:

Dr. Hye Jung Kang, Associate Professor of Physics (Tenured or Tenure-Track)
Ms. Stephanie Ringgold, Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics (Non-Tenure Track)
Dr. Brian Billings, Associate Professor of English (Mentorship)

2020-2021 Winners:

Dr. Jaime Cantrell, Assistant Professor of English (Tenured or Tenure-Track)
Mr. Kenny Irizarry, Instructor of Engineering (Non-Tenure Track)
Dr. Corrine Hinton, Associate Professor of English (Mentorship)